About this website

The Bagley Brief is run by researcher Philip Eastwood and endeavours to promote the memory and literary legacy of the English thriller novelist Desmond Bagley. Bagley died in 1983 at the age of 59 leaving us a literary canon of seventeen published novels and a handful of short stories, articles and interviews. At the time of his death he was reputed to be one of the highest paid writers of fiction novels in the world. Remarkable considering he left school at the age of fourteen having failed to pass any exams, suffered a life-long speech impediment and was nearly forty years old when his first novel, The Golden Keel, was published.

This site also contains the Running Blind archive, formerly bagleysrunningblind.info, which launched on 5th January 2015 as a definitive on-line resource for Desmond Bagley’s seventh published novel, a Cold War espionage thriller set in Iceland. Material from bagleysrunningblind.info migrated to The Bagley Brief on 5th September 2016.

british_library_logoThis website has been preserved for the future by the British Library’s UK Web Archive, historic web captures of the site are available in the Legal Deposit Library Reading Rooms.

Material from fellow Bagley enthusiast Nigel Alefounder’s Desmond Bagley website and Facebook account is also promoted. Nigel’s website celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2017 and is a ‘must view’.

Links & Citations

The following publications, blogs & podcasts have kindly cited this website and its author.

The Bagley Brief - Citations


If you have any questions, or feedback please feel free to drop The Bagley Brief a message.

© The Bagley Brief - Desmond Bagley - Contact

Domain and Hosting Information for this site

This site is powered by WordPress who support the Free Software Foundation. Domains are registered by the Iceland-based web host OrangeWebsite, who promote freedom of speech and run their services on 100% green energy.

© WordPress.org, © fsf.org & © OrangeWebsite.com

All articles, referenced and accredited material on this site is © Philip Eastwood, unless otherwise stated.