© The Bagley Brief

The novels

The Novels of Desmond Bagley - The Bagley Brief © HarperCollins Publishers

Desmond Bagley wrote seventeen novels, fourteen of which were published in his lifetime by Collins Publishers of London. His widow, Joan Magaret Bagley completed and oversaw the posthumous publication of two further novels, Night of Error and Juggernaut. A further unpublished novel Domino Island, written under the working title ‘Because Salton Died’ was published by HarperCollins in 2019.

Explore the novels of Desmond Bagley including first edition covers and original publishers ‘blurb’.

Articles & Interviews

Read a bibliography of non-fiction articles written by Bagley including periodical publications and a list of interviews held with the author.

Desmond Bagley © Pluriform - The Bagley Brief.

Bagley on writing action fiction

In May 1973 an edition of The Writer featured an article by Desmond Bagley titled ‘Writing Action Fiction’. In this article Bagley describes, using examples from Running Blind, how he applied the three-part (three-act) structure when writing his novels.



Images © & courtesy of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd; Madavor Media, LLC / The Writer Inc.; BRITAIN (formerly In Britain) magazine, The Chelsea Magazine Company Ltd.